Political System

The Government of Liberia - like the United States Government - is a unitary, constitutional and democratic republic as enshrined in the Constitution. The government consists of three equal branches of government: The executive branch, headed by the head of state and the legislature, consists of two chambers and the judiciary, consisting of the Supreme Court and a number some other courts.

The President serves as Prime Minister, Commander of the State and Leader of the Armed Forces of Liberia. Other tasks of the President include ratifying or opposing legislative acts, granting pardons, appointing members of the Council of Ministers, judges and other public officials. The President and Vice-President are elected for a term of six years by majority of votes in a two-round electoral system and may serve two terms.

Legislative power consists of the Senate and the House of Representatives. They are relatively distributed to the 15 counties on the basis of the national census, with each county electing at least two members. Each member of the house of representatives represents an electoral district within the county in accordance with the National Election Commission's determinations and is elected by a majority for six years. The Senate consists of two members from each county, for a total of 30 members. A senator serves for nine years and is elected by majority of votes. The Vice-President serves as the President of the Senate, while his position is replaced by a temporary Chairman of the Council in his absence.

Liberia's highest judicial authority is represented by the Supreme Court which consists of five members and chaired by the President of the Supreme Court of Liberia.